Rabbis of Duluth and Superior - Chronology  
  Time line   Temple Emanuel   Adas Israel   Tiffereth Israel   Superior  
  1890   Burton E Levinson     1890s Henry Bloom  
    1900 Saperstein (first rabbi)     (Chaim Yitzchak)  
  1900 1904 Mendel Silber        
    Glueck 1924 Israel Teplitz    
  1910   David Eisenberg   J Kopstein   1920-1945 Moses Hyatt  
    Sigmund Frey 1935-1942 Paul Bender   1945 Alex Hyatt  
  1920   Maurice Lefkovitz   M. Benjamin Silman 1922 Jacob Halperin  
    Alvin Louchs    
  1930   Kuppin   Cantor Joseph Braverman   Temple Beth El  
    Harvey Wessel   Kopstein   1920-1944 Zundel Katz  
  1940   Wolfgang Hamburger   Noah Bernstein   1947-1952 Aaron Gold  
  1948 William B Silverman 1935-1942 Paul Bender 1952-1955 Selig Auerbach  
  1950   B T Rubenstein   1945 Rueben Segal 19555-1970 Mayer Relles  
    Burton E Levinson (7 years) 1948-1950 M Benjamin Silman   Benson Skoff[1] 1970-73 Barry Woolf  
  1960   Walter H Plaut 1959 Herman Rozler   Dr. Emanuel Bennett (2 years)[2] 1973-76 Ernie Nadler  
    1964 Jacob Traub 1959 Louis Israel Schechter[3] 1976-85+ Joe Brizer (lay leader)  
  1970   1969 Noach Bernstein 1963-1969 Sylvan Kamens  
    1975-1976 Maurice Schwartz    
  1980   1978 Ely Braun   Richard Rocklin    
      Herman Rozler      
      Reb Appleman      
      I. Caplitz      
  Note: dates indicated are approximate and may not be inclusive.  
  Links to more information about the Rabbis  
  Notes for  further expansion of the table  
  Rabbi Kopstein 1926 fits somewhere.  
  Rabbi Bernard Gelbart was first rabbi of the newly merged Temple Isreal in 1970  
  Rabbi Anthony Holz - Temple Israel - 1985  
  Rabbi for Hibbing - Rabbi Joseph W Wiesberg (he led USY for the Midwest for a number of years too)  
  Temple Israel - Rabbi Amy Bernstein - 13 years  
  Temple Israel - Rabbi David Steinberg 2010  
  Mandel Cohen (1875-1949) Eveleth, MN Synagogue -   Rabbi  in the 1910-20 timeframe  
  David Turchick (1908-1981) Eveleth, MN Synagogue - Rabbi  until the Synagogue closed.  
  Rabbi Caplin in Eveleth in about 1957  
  Rabby A B Sokolow, congregation Moses Mantifiore 1917-1920  
home Jews of Duluth table of contents

Rabbi Benson Skoff was the rabbi before Bennett.
Schechter replaced Dr. Emanuel Bennett who was rabbi for 2 years.
Rabbi Louis I Schechter took over as rabbi at Tiffereth Israel in 1959